Go-Daddy & Comcast

This morning I was billed from a account for an amount to Go-Daddy. I used them to host a site a couple of years ago for a business venture that went nowhere. I set the site up and registered a couple of domains, all normal so far. Well the domains were due to expire late last year, and I received confirmation of the expiration; again all is good so far! Now comes this bill for expired domains taken directly from one of my accounts. I am notified when any transactions take place and I called the parties involved and the matter has been sorted.

So I am sitting here thinking how could this occur, the Go Daddy company wasn’t given permission to take any money from me, and I never subscribed to the auto renew. I must admit to finding this yet another reason to be so careful who I sign up with and what access they are given.

I had a quite bad experience with Comcast seven years ago. I had moved apartments and I had cancelled my cable in one apartment and it took about three months before I decided to purchase it again for the new place. Upon checking my bank account I discovered Comcast had charged me for cable and internet for the three months I had non. I was alarmed so I called them, the most disturbing thing was how rude one guy was, he called me a liar and said I hadn’t cancelled my account. The fact I had returned the cable box and remote & had a receipt was of no consequence to him (a real ass-hole)!

Needless to say I pestered them and after a few calls my money, which was around the $300 area was returned by check in two installments; yes they couldn’t make one check! I am not with them any more and I won’t be if I have a choice. I don’t sign for auto pay because of that mess, and I never will. The situation today was resolved quickly and without incident.

Most bank accounts today will have a notification section where you can decide how to be notified and which transaction you desire notification. I highly recommend this service, and if you don’t have it set up you should do so. It can really save you time and money!

Have a great day!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About baldbiker

Living in LA for the last seventeen years, via London and Ireland. I am into tech, windows & mac compatible. I have been in no particular order, bouncer, diver, private detective, chef, I work in security!
wanderingbarkhumanities

Finding the Lost Humanities

My Dog Ate a Lightbulb

And other daily distractions

Typical Blogger

Deadpan never dies.

JACK MONROE:

COOK. CAMPAIGNER. COLUMNIST. MOTHER. AUTHOR. GIRLFRIEND. IMP.

The Daily Hawk!

scalding hot news right in your face

9to5Google

Beyond Good and Evil

Shatnerian

Assorted nerdery and general parental fails from Montreal's West Island.

strainofthought

The Erratic Output of a Multi-Track Mind

zenmart's Blog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

After Dark Gaming

the red eye gamer

Stories From the Edge of Blindness

In 2002, Retinitis Pigmentosa changed my life. These are my stories of a slow approach to darkness.

one cool site

WordPress blogging tips tools & tutorials

Tech

News and reviews from the world of gadgets, gear, apps and the web

9to5Mac

Apple iPhone, Mac and iPad News Breaking All Day

Bill Mullins' Weblog - Tech Thoughts

Security and System Tools and Tips. Software Reviews, News, Views, Downloads and Links.

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Psyche's Circuitry

Thoughts on growing up and growing old in the digital age

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

