Christmas

As we move from 2011 to 2012, I see during this time of good will and celebration. Religious intolerance and bigotry. I see religious fanatics trying to impose their will from some obscure moral high ground.
I see atheists being offended by the mere visual of anything looking religious.
I was raised as a catholic but I’m not religious now. I have too much curiosity and see the world through scientific eyes.
But I respect people of all faiths and customs. It is our differences that make us interesting. I have my beliefs and I will argue for them if required. But I do not impose or expect you to forgo your beliefs.
You are entitled to your opinion on religion and science, but not to your own facts. The truth should not be misrepresented to make a point.
You are entitled to your faith, but I ask you to respect the fact I don’t have that faith.
I ask for tolerance of our differences. We can enjoy religious celebrations without fear that we must convert.
Atheism is not a religion, but an absence of one. Science is not a religion but a process of discovery.
Can we see our differences not as a threat. But as a opportunity to refrain from judgement.

Tags: , ,

About baldbiker

Living in LA for the last seventeen years, via London and Ireland. I am into tech, windows & mac compatible. I have been in no particular order, bouncer, diver, private detective, chef, I work in security!
wanderingbarkhumanities

Finding the Lost Humanities

My Dog Ate a Lightbulb

And other daily distractions

Typical Blogger

Deadpan never dies.

JACK MONROE:

COOK. CAMPAIGNER. COLUMNIST. MOTHER. AUTHOR. GIRLFRIEND. IMP.

The Daily Hawk!

scalding hot news right in your face

9to5Google

Beyond Good and Evil

Shatnerian

Assorted nerdery and general parental fails from Montreal's West Island.

strainofthought

The Erratic Output of a Multi-Track Mind

zenmart's Blog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

After Dark Gaming

the red eye gamer

Stories From the Edge of Blindness

In 2002, Retinitis Pigmentosa changed my life. These are my stories of a slow approach to darkness.

one cool site

WordPress blogging tips tools & tutorials

Tech

News and reviews from the world of gadgets, gear, apps and the web

9to5Mac

Apple iPhone, Mac and iPad News Breaking All Day

Bill Mullins' Weblog - Tech Thoughts

Security and System Tools and Tips. Software Reviews, News, Views, Downloads and Links.

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Psyche's Circuitry

Thoughts on growing up and growing old in the digital age

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

